Testimony of the association of proprietary colleges for the joint legislative public hearingon the executive budget proposal for sfy 2019 – 2020. January 28, 2019

Introduction and History of Proprietary Education in New York:

The Association of Proprietary Colleges (APC) represents 12 fully accredited, degree granting colleges operating on 23 college campuses in New York State offering associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral level programs. Our colleges are located across the state from Buffalo to Long Island, Jamestown to Rochester, Syracuse, Albany and the NYC metropolitan area.

The history of proprietary education in New York began in the middle 1800’s and is rooted in the tradition of providing access to a quality education. Six of our twelve member colleges were founded more than 100 years ago and our oldest members, Bryant & Stratton College, founded in 1854 and Jamestown Business College, founded in 1886 are still operating successfully today. Many other proprietary institutions were established in the first half of the 20th century; The College of Westchester was founded in 1915, Plaza College was founded in 1916, Monroe College was founded in 1933 and LIM College was founded in 1939.

In 1971, the New York State Board of Regents created a pathway for select proprietary schools to obtain degree-granting authority. In order to obtain degree granting authority, proprietarycolleges are required to meet all of the same stringent requirements for program registrationand approval as SUNY, CUNY, and private not-for-profit institutions. LIM College and Monroe College were among the first proprietary institutions to receive degree granting authority in 1972 and today continue to successfully educate thousands of students each year.

Read the full testimony.